How long did the maya live in central america?

As early as 1500 BCE the Maya had settled in villages and were practicing agriculture. The Classic Period of Mayan culture lasted from about 250 CE until about 900. At its height, Mayan civilization consisted of more than 40 cities, each with a population between 5,000 and 50,000.