Why are black eyed peas called black eyed peas?

Black eyed peas, a subspecies of cowpea, got their name from the black spot on the bean itself, though the color can also be brown, red, pink, or green. The musical group The Black Eyed Peas (originally the Black Eyed Pods) has never offered an explanation of why they chose that name.