Where do pistachio trees grow?

Pistachio trees grow best and produce the most nuts in an arid semi-desert climate with long, dry, hot summers, low humidity and cool but not frigid winters. During the growing season, pistachio trees thrive on heat? Middle East, and South American and Mexico are some of the highest producers.