Can you plant an apricot seed?

Yes. According to gardeningknowhow.com, apricots are stone fruits, similar to plums, cherries, and peaches. They can be grown from that stone or pit, but trees are not true to the parent and rarely produce fruit. Instead, they are grafted onto rootstock with beneficial attributes.