How long should a cook scallops for?

to pan sear scallops add 2 tablespoons butter and olive oil to a hot pan on high heat (never add oil to a cold pan it will burn) once the butter and oil start to smoke gently place the scallops in the pan, not touching each other. Cook for about 90 seconds on each side and serve immediately