Why do cats lick themselves all the time?

Cats appear to be licking themselves but this is a form of grooming and in many instances it is also performed right after eating. A tactic carry over from being in the wild to ensure future prey did not smell the odor of their last kill. The cat's tongue is rough and has an abrasive quality .