What does panthenol mean?

Panthenol is a chemical compound also known as Pantothenic Acid, or vitamin B5. It is an essential human nutrient found in almost all foods. It is also used in pharmaceuticals and cosmetic products as a moisturizer, and to aid in wound healing.