Does the napkin go on the right or the left?

The napkin goes either to the left of the fork on the very outside, or if you have three forks in a formal table setting, put the napkin on the plate. When you sit down, unfold it and put it on your lap. If you get up, put it on your chair. When finished, set it neatly to the left of your plate