Why are they called collard greens?

They are in the same cultivar group owing to their genetic similarity. The name "collard" comes from the word "colewort" (the wild cabbage plant). ... Collard greens have been eaten for at least 2000 years, with evidence showing that the ancient Greeks cultivated several types of collard.