What is gray matter in your brain?

It is the tissue in the brain and spinal cord that holds neural cell bodies (neurons), axon terminals, dendrites, and all nerve synapses. It is pinkish-gray in color as opposed to the white color of the white matter which is the deeper tissue containing nerve axons, which are extensions of neurons.