What is a hurricane called on the west coast?

The answer to what are hurricanes called on the west coast is Hurricane. The National Oceanic and Atsmospheric Administration (NOAA) calls all storms of such magnitude in the US hurricanes. In other countries they can be called typhoons or other regional names.