What is a delta?

Deltas are wetlands that form as rivers empty their water and sediment into another body of slower-moving or stagnant water such as where a river enters an ocean, sea, estuary, lake, reservoir, or other rivers that cannot carry away the sediment., such as an ocean, lake, or another river.