Why can't you leave trees floating in minecraft?

According to Minecraft101.net, if you don't remove every piece of wood from a tree, the leaves will not decay and will remain floating in the air. This is ugly, and considered obnoxious on multiplayer servers! Build a pillar of dirt or something to reach the upper branches.

---

While non-combative, the Floating Tree would cause all saplings to immediately become trees whenever a character steps on them, sending them flying (like Iron Golems do).