What is v. e. m.?

VEM is a Smart card system used in bus, train and metro of the metropolitan area of Recife, Brazil. These cards operate by using contactless technology as they have an internal chip that communicates with the validator by RFID. Since 11 June 2014, All credits in VEM card has a validity of 180 days.