Does it ever rain in the cloud?

Yes, it can and does sometimes rain inside a cloud. Some clouds are tall enough that they pass through a thermocline, so the tops are significantly colder than the bases. Droplets condense and start falling from the top, to warm and re-evaporate near the base.