What is the difference between instruct and teach?

Instruct and teach are often used interchangeably. In fact, the lowest rank on a university faculty is typically called "Instructor." In the more classic sense, those who "teach" have broader objectives than who instruct" and focus on a set of tools or tasks to accomplish something specific.