How can squirrels climb trees?

Squirrels have claws that allow them to grip the bark on a tree to climb both up and down.

---

Squirrels have flexible joints that allow them to quickly shift around a tree trunk. With feet that rotate one hundred eighty degrees and super sharp claws that dig into bark, a tree is a perfect home for a squirrel.