Is avocado bad when it turns brown?

In general, yes, an avocado is bad when it turns brown; unless it is a Hass variety, which is naturally brown in color. Otherwise, a brown avocado is much like a brown banana -- it has been handled roughly and bruised, making the inside brown and bitter, as well.