Is frindle a word?

"Frindle" comes from a children's story of the same name by Andrew Clements about a boy who argues with a teacher about making-up words and he invents "frindle" to describe his pen and soon everyone is using the word. The word now appears in Miriam-Webster's Word Central and Urban Dictionary.