What's another word for studying?

The Merriam-Webster Thesaurus says “ Some common synonyms of study are consider, contemplate, and weigh. These words mean "to think about in order to arrive at a judgment or decision," study implies sustained purposeful concentration and attention to details and minutiae. ”