What was the original used for chainsaws?

The original use for a chainsaw was to assist in childbirth. If a woman was delivering a baby in the breech position, a small, hand-cranked chainsaw with fine-cutting teeth was used to cut through the mother's cartilage and ligaments to allow for delivery. Gross but true.