Tell me about the lhasa apso?

The Lhasa Apso is a non-sporting dog breed originating in Tibet. In Tibet, the Lhasa Apso goes by his original name, Abso Seng Kye, which means Bark Lion Sentinel Dog. The first Lhasas to come to the United States were also gifts from the Dalai Lama. They live until their teens or even twenties.