What's on the end of a dinosaur's tale?

A thagomizer is the arrangement of four spikes on the tails of stegosaurine dinosaurs believed to have been for defense. Coined by Gary Larson in a Far Side comic strip, when cavemen are taught by their caveman professor that the spikes on a Stegosaur's tail are named "after the late Thag Simmons"