Do beets grow in the ground?

Yes, the beetroot is the taproot portion of a beet plant, usually known in North America as the beet, and also known as the table beet, garden beet, sugar beet, red beet, dinner beet, or golden beet.

---

Beets grow with a portion of the root above ground, so seeds do not need to be planted deeply. 1/2 inch to 1 inch deep is sufficient.