What was the seven hour war?

According to the gaming world of Half Life 2, the Seven Hour War was conducted by the Combine in their invasion and conquest of Earth. It ends with Earth's surrender negotiated by Wallace Breen, who is then made the Combine puppet administrator of Earth with City 17 as his base of operations