How fast does a shuttlecock travel?

The fastest shuttlecock speed was recorded in 1996 in the UK, when Simon Archer smashed a badminton shuttlecock at a world record measured speed of 162 mph. Shuttlecock speed is dependent on the materials of the shuttlecock, heat, humidity, season, location, and of course the player's expertise.