When did they start making wheat pennies?

The wheat penny is a classic iconic early 21st century American coin with a face value of 1 cent that was minted from 1909 to 1956.

---

Wheat pennies refers to the back design of the USA's Lincoln penny, this design first appeared in 1909 and was last used in one cent coins dated 1958.