When was outer space discovered?

In October 1923, using the Hooker telescope, Edwin Hubble spotted what he first thought was a nova star flaring up in the Andromeda 'nebula'. After careful examination of photographic plates of the same area taken previously by other astronomers, he realized that it was a variable star