What does uncured beef mean?

No nitrates or nitrites added, uncured uses natural curing agents, such as celery powder, which transforms into nitrite when it is processed, the color formation and stability come from this source.

---

Beef with no nitrates, chemicals or additives. Cured meats use chemicals and additives while uncured meats rely on natural salts and flavorings. Cured meats have nitrates. Uncured don't. ... Many people are allergic to nitrates and nitrites so they would opt for the uncured meat or fish.