Where does the word kombucha come from?

The Merriam-Webster Dictionary maintains that the use of kombucha in the English language likely stems from the misapplication of Japanese words: kombucha, kobucha (which translate to "tea made from kelp"), kobu, kombu (which mean "kelp") and cha (meaning “tea”).