Why do people get their adenoids removed?

Enlarged adenoids can obstruct breathing and block the eustachian tubes, which connect your middle ear to the back of your nose. Some children are born with enlarged adenoids. Clogged eustachian tubes cause ear infections that can jeopardize your child's hearing and respiratory health.