How long does it take for yeast to proof?

It takes 5 to 10 minutes to proof yeast by placing it warm sugar water and waiting to see if it starts foaming, indicating that it is active. Proofing yeast is a process that bakers and fermenters use to confirm that the yeast is active. If it does not foam, the yeast should not be used.