Was the u. s. s. indianapolis sunk during world war two?

Yes, the U.S.S. Indianapolis was sunk on July 30, 1945 shortly after delivering essential components of the atomic bomb to the island of Tinian. The following week, the bomb would be deployed at Hiroshima.