How long does carpet usually last?

Inexpensive, apartment-grade carpet will typically last anywhere from 1 to 5 years. A medium grade carpet will last between 5 to 15 years. The best carpet on the market will last between 15 and 25 years on average. it depends on how you treat the carpet and how you maintain it over the years.