When was the nineteen hundreds?

The nineteen hundreds, also known colloquially as the twentieth century, started with the year 1900 and ended at midnight December 31st of 1999. The twentieth century ran from 1901 through the year 2000. The discrepancy is caused by the absence of a year zero in the Gregorian calendar.