Why do bananas turn brown in the fridge?

Bananas grown in warm climates are not naturally exposed to cold temperatures. At normal fridge temperatures their cell walls weaken and rupture, causing compounds to oxidize and darken. For transport, bananas are refrigerated to between 56.3 and 59.0 °F which is not cold enough to damage the fruit.