When did the wild west era end?

Although the “Wild West” is a time period generally defined from 1865 to 1895, there are many events that shaped the American West as a region from ancient times up to 1916.

---

Ironically, the era that has provided more than 100 years' worth of celluloid fantasies lasted only 30 years. In fact, the era known as the Wild West, or the American Frontier, began after the Civil War in 1865 and ended around 1895.