What is honing a knife?

A hone, or steel, is a rod shaped tool that is made of either steel or ceramic. The purpose of a hone is to keep a sharp knife sharp. It is not designed to sharpen a knife that is dull. ... Honing a knife generally, does not involve the removal of metal.