What's the difference between a canary and a parakeet?

The difference between parrot and parakeet is very limited because the parrot is a broad term for a class of colorful birds. In contrast, parakeets refer to a small member of the parrot family. The body size is one of the major differences, as parrots being much larger to the parakeets.