What does it mean when a cat purse?

Purring (and many other low-frequency vocalizations in mammals) often are associated with positive social situations: nursing, grooming, relaxing, being friendly. More likely, though, purring is simply soothing, or self-soothing, as cats may also purr in stressful situations.