What can you use to substitute dark corn syrup?

Honey, light corn syrup mixed with molasses or brown sugar dissolved in a little hot water can be substituted for dark corn syrup but the texture of the finished product might be affected. In some candy recipes, corn syrup plays a vital role in the hardening process and a recipe may fail without it