Do asteroids orbit the sun?

Many asteroids orbit the Sun in a region between Mars and Jupiter. This "belt" of asteroids follows a slightly elliptical path as it orbits the Sun in the same direction as the planets. It takes anywhere from three to six Earth years for a complete revolution around the Sun.