What did ants evolve from?

What did ants evolve from? Ants evolved from vespoid wasp ancestors in the Cretaceous period. More than 13,800 of an estimated total of 22,000 species have been classified. They are easily identified by their geniculate antennae and the distinctive node-like structure that forms their slender waists