Why is a pineapple called a pineapple?

When European explorers encountered this tropical fruit in the Americas, they called them "pineapples" for resemblance to pine cones.

---

When European explorers encountered this tropical fruit in the Americas, they called them "pineapples" for resemblance to pine cones.