How long does it take a rocket to reach space?

According to NASA, it takes the space shuttle approximately 8.5 minutes to get to orbit accelerating from zero to its orbital velocity of 17,500 miler per hour. At launch, the shuttle and its fully-fueled rocket boosters weigh about 4.5 million pounds.