What is the definition of scoundrel?

The term scoundrel isn’t used as much as it once was, it’s the perfect way to describe someone who breaks the law, has no morals. Most villains in movies and on television can be put in this category. Women are quite capable of equally wicked behavior, this term is usually reserved for men.