Who invented cake mix?

We have a Pittsburgh company called P. Duff and Sons to thank. On Dec. 10, 1930, the company's John D. Duff applied for a patent for an “invention [that] relates to a dehydrated flour for use in making pastry products and to a process of making the same.”