Why is the strawberry called the strawberry?

It probably comes from "strewn berry" since as the strawberry plant spreads and produces runners, its berries appear strewn about on the ground.

---

According to the Integrated Pest Management department at the University of Missouri, it probably comes from "strewn berry" since as the strawberry plant spreads and produces runners, its berries appear strewn about on the ground.