Who founded the city of detroit michigan?

The site that was to become the city of Detroit was established on July 24, 1701 by Antoine de la mothe Cadillac, a French military leader & trader. Cadillac traveled widely in New France & the western Great Lakes & was the commander of Fort Michilimackinac at the junction of Lakes Huron & Michigan.