Is the five second rule true?

Several studies have been conducted to determine whether the 5-second rule is true. The consensus: Food left on the ground for longer periods of time collects more bacteria. The longer your food is on the floor, the dirtier it becomes. As soon as food touches the ground, it is likely contaminated.